Life Crisis

Well, you may be thinking why doesn’t the heading signify any age bracket or possibly throw light on the elderly in the neighbourhood because we think crisis occur only mid-age onwards. 

Crisis doesn’t just strike you mid-life or at an advanced age. It could be at any phase in your life in my opinion. But what you need is a zest and determination to get up and bounce back. In many cases the routine seems mundane and boring and the motivation to move forward seems like a daunting task. But that is exactly when we need to pull up our socks. We need to look for that one spark that will ignite our day. It could be something as basic as being hooked to a book.

As human beings, we need to constantly strive for growth. Now this growth shouldn’t be drastic, comparative with those around or stressful. It can be our own unique journey of progression. We need not become obsessed with materialistic goals and neither have absolutely no vision at all. What it means is that we need to just get better than what we were yesterday. 

I realized I am usually the one who is always pulsating with new ideas and have been very enterprising but there came a phase sometime back where I just didn’t feel like the above. I just wanted to start my day with a blank slate, go with the flow- do the routine tasks and be thankful for the simple pleasures like enjoying my newly done cozy room. 

This phase also made me realise that I do enjoy the simple pleasures like tossing a healthy salad, decorating my room, cleaning up my closet, distributing things I no longer use, planning the daily meals and so on. I consciously made a decision to not hop on to flights mindlessly, to cancel on plans that I didn’t feel up for and avoid negative conversations which don’t do any good. I must say all this contributes to us positively in some or the other way. 

This isn’t a note of someone depressed but it comes from someone who wants to strive for a life which is a good mix. A mix of the fancy and not so fancy. I do enjoy my holidays, shopping sessions, night-outs and so on. But I also truly enjoy my morning yoga, evening walks, home-cooked meals, deep conversations and so much more.

Talking about yoga, that truly is my new love and I hope this one is for good as it has become my most looked forward to activity in the day. I love the hustle, I love to work hard but every now and then, I love to slow down because I don’t wish to run through with the pleasures of life. So, why not pause to reflect now instead of at 40: am I able to holistically enjoy my life or not?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.